MINUTES

NEW JERSEY WORLD TRADE CENTER SCHOLARSHIP FUND BOARD

July 23, 2008

The World Trade Center Scholarship Fund Board of Trustees held a teleconference meeting on July 23, 2008 at 3:30 p.m. at the HESAA offices in Hamilton.

PRESENT: Ms. Gisele Joachim, Mr. James Gray Ms. Nancy Style, Treasurer's Designee, and Ms. Kathleen Wisniewski.

Ms. Edith Brower, Deputy Attorney General, Office of Recovery and Victims Assistance; Ms. Melissa Hager, Deputy Attorney General; and

HESAA staff: Fran Andrea, Gloria Green, Robin Bridges Johnson and Marnie Grodman, Esq.

ABSENT: Marilyn Joseph and Peter Traphagen.

CALL TO ORDER

Fran Andrea called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. and stated that the meeting had been noticed in compliance with the requirements of the Open Public Meetings Act.

Ms. Andrea welcomed the Board members on the phone and asked them to identify themselves when speaking. No members of the public signed up to speak with us.

Ms. Andrea welcomed the DAG Melissa Hager and Edith Brower, Office of Recovery and Victims Assistance who were also participating on the teleconference.

Roseann Sorrentino called the roll.

RESOLUTION 03:08: REVISION OF NEW JERSEY WORLD TRADE CENTER SCHOLARSHIP AWARD AMOUNT

Marnie Grodman, Esquire presented this Resolution to the Board.

At the July 2, 2008 meeting the Board determined that based on the available funds this year's scholarship amount needed to be a two tiered amount, with up to \$6500 scholarships for students who received the scholarship last year and up to \$4500 scholarships for students who did not receive the scholarship last year. Now an additional \$200,000 has been allocated for the

scholarship fund it was recommended that the Board approve and authorize setting the annual World Trade Center Scholarship award at an amount not to exceed \$6500 for all eligible students.

Motion to approve the resolution was made by Kathleen Wisniewski and seconded by James Gray. Gisele Joachim questioned there were enough funds for this amount and Fran Andrea responded that this amount would address the needs of the students. The motion was adopted unanimously by roll call.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion to adjourn was made by James Gray, and seconded by Kathleen Wisniewski.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:45p.m.

RESOLUTION 03:08

REVISION OF NEW JERSEY WORLD TRADE CENTER SCHOLARSHIP AWARD AMOUNT

Moved by: Ms. Kathleen Wisniewski

Seconded by: Mr. James Gray

WHEREAS: The New Jersey World Trade Center Scholarship Fund was established by

N.J.S.A. 18A:71B-23.1 et seq. as a non-lapsing fund to provide assistance to the surviving dependent children and spouses of victims of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center; and

September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks on the world Trade Center, and

WHEREAS: Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 18A:71B-23.5 the World Trade Center Scholarship

Board of Trustees ("Board") is charged with establishing procedures for determining the amount of each scholarship award, based on the financial need of the applicants and the resources available to the applicant to meet

his higher education costs; and

WHEREAS: The Board has reviewed the available resources as well as the number of

projected World Trade Center Scholarship recipients; and

WHEREAS: At its July 2, 2008 meeting the Board determined that based on the

available resources, and the projected number of World Trade Center Scholarship recipients, the amount of the annual World Trade Center Scholarship award would be two-tiered, based on whether or not students received a World Trade Center Scholarship award for the 2007-2008

Academic Year; and

WHEREAS: \$200,000 in additional funds has been allocated to support this program;

and

WHEREAS: The Board has determined that based on this additional funding the

amount of the annual World Trade Center Scholarship award shall not

exceed \$6500 for all eligible students.

NOW, THEREFORE, LET IT BE:

RESOLVED: That the Board approves and authorizes setting the annual World Trade

Center Scholarship award at an amount not to exceed \$6500 for all eligible

students.